Skip to main content

lnteragency Suspension and Debarment Committee (ISDC)

 ISDC Seal

About the ISDC

Section 4 of  Executive Order 12549 on Debarment and Suspension directed the establishment of the Interagency Suspension and Debarment Committee (ISDC) to monitor implementation of the Order. This Order mandates Executive departments and agencies to:

 Participate in a government-wide system for debarment and suspension from programs and activities involving Federal financial and nonfinancial assistance and benefits,

 Issue regulations with government-wide criteria and minimum due process procedures when debarring or suspending participants, and

 Enter debarred and suspended participants’ identifying information on the General Services Administration list of excluded persons, now known as the  System for Award Management (SAM). Information placed on SAM is the responsibility of the Agency issuing the suspension or debarment action.

The ISDC also facilitates lead agency coordination, serves as a forum to discuss current suspension and debarment related issues, and assists in developing unified Federal policy. When requested by OMB, the ISDC serves as a regulatory drafting body for revisions to the government-wide nonprocurement suspension and debarment common rule.


The Interagency Suspension and Debarment Committee (ISDC) serves as a Federal forum to discuss Government-wide non-procurement and procurement suspension and debarment related issues (administered under 2 C.F.R. Part 180 and FAR 48 C.F.R. Subpart 9.4), facilitate lead agency coordination, and assist in developing unified Federal policy. The ISDC, upon Office of Management and Budget (OMB) requests, provides recommendations to the OMB, regarding the Government-wide suspension and debarment remedy.


The ISDC’s vision is to promote transparency and best practices across its community to address business and integrity risks within the framework of the Federal suspension and debarment remedy.

ISDC Leadership

Acting Chair: Jennifer Ward, Department of Homeland Security
Co-Vice Chairs:  James Latoff, Department of the Navy and Monica Aquino-Thieman, NASA